Home Page

The Foundation Stage

The Reception year group includes three classes (Butterflies, Bumblebees and Ladybirds) each supported by a Class Teacher and a full time Teaching Assistant.  

The reception children are taught in accordance with the revised Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.  This comprises of three prime areas of learning:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development


And four specific areas:


  • Literacy
  • Mathematical Development
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


Through our topic based teaching, we endeavour to make learning exciting, practical and purposeful and we believe in the importance of learning through play.


We encourage the children to become independent learners and therefore provide for a good mix of adult led and child initiated activities.


The children enjoy learning in the outdoor classroom, where all the areas of the indoor curriculum are extended and enhanced.